If you check Save Settings on Exit in Server Manager, it will not save settings during a logoff or shutdown.

Even though logoff and shutdown are exit events, you must close Server Manager at Computer / Exit or by pressing ALT+F4 or by clicking the Close button (upper right corner of the Server Manager window).