Why does Outlook sometimes say that I've sent a reply to a message when I know I haven't?

You might see a reply flag, such as the one Figure 1, page 6, shows, on a message if you created a reply and didn't send it but had the reply open long enough for Outlook to save it automatically to the Drafts folder.

If this behavior annoys you, one possible workaround is to lengthen the AutoSave time or turn off AutoSave completely. To alter your AutoSave settings, choose Tools, Options, E-mail Options, Advanced E-mail Options.