A. As Windows Server grows in functionality and subsequent number of components, organizations are able to get more and more out of their Windows investment. However, such OS growth has its downsides: More components means more items that need to patched and updated, and more components potentially means more vulnerabilities and a greater attack vector.

With Windows 2008, Microsoft has addressed these concerns by introducing a new Core installation type, which you select during the installation of the OS. The Core installation contains only 25 percent of the bits in Windows 2008; everything else is add-on functionality. Server Core installations have support for the following server roles:

  • Active Directory Domain Services
  • Active Directory Lightweight Directory Services (AD LDS)
  • Dynamic Host Configuration Protocol (DHCP) Server
  • DNS Server
  • File Services
  • Print Server
  • Streaming Media Services
  • Internet Information Services (IIS)

Supported features include:

  • Microsoft Failover Cluster
  • Network Load Balancing (NLB)
  • Subsystem for UNIX-based Applications
  • Windows Backup
  • Multipath I/O
  • Removable Storage Management
  • Windows Bitlocker Drive Encryption
  • Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP)
  • Windows Internet Naming Service (WINS)
  • Telnet client
  • Quality of Service (QoS)

One missing component in Core is the Windows Explorer interface, so the shell is a command interface. The oclist.exe file is used to list the roles available and to add and remove (except for AD, which should be enabled via Dcpromo).