If you wish to remove the Previous Versions tab or just disable the Restore button, first implement tip 10905 ยป An update is available to optimize the way that the Shadow Copy Client accesses shadow copies in Windows Server 2003 and in Windows XP on your servers and client workstations.

NOTE: If your client does not see a Previous Versions tab on the Properties dialog, the the Shadow Copies of Shared Folders feature may not be enabled on the shared resource.

NOTE: If you only disable the Restore button on the Previous Versions tab, the client can only copy an earlier version to an alternate location. They cannot overwrite the current version with an earlier version of the file.

To remove the Previous Versions tab, add the following to a Startup script:

REG ADD HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer /V NoPreviousVersionsPage /T REG_DWORD /D 1

NOTE: You could add the following to a Logon script:

REG ADD HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer /V NoPreviousVersionsPage /T REG_DWORD /D 1

To disable the Restore button, add the following to a Startup script:

REG ADD HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer /V NoPreviousVersionsRestore /T REG_DWORD /D 1

NOTE: You could add the following to a Logon script:

REG ADD HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer /V NoPreviousVersionsRestore /T REG_DWORD /D 1