When you open My Network Places, shares that are no longer available are still displayed.

You stopped sharing a resource on your computer, but other computers can still see the resource in their My Network Places.

This behavior occurs because Windows XP has an 'age out' period for these resources. After 48 hours, the resource is no longer displayed in My Network Places.