The only way I know to prevent this particular popup is:

1. Control Panel / Network and Internet Connections / Network Connections.

2. Right-click the connection and press Properties.

3. Select the General tab.

4. Uncheck the Show icon in notification area when connected box.

5. Press Apply and OK.