When you use the Event Viewer to Clear all Events and respond Yes to the Do you want to save <Log Name> before clearing it?, you receive The system cannot find the path specified if you attempt to save the file on a mapped network drive.

To workaround the behavior, use either of the following:

Save the log before clearing it:

1. Select the log file you wish to clear.

2. On the Action menu, press Save Log File As.

3. Double-click the mapped network drive, type a file name, and press Save.

4. On the Action menu, press Clear all Events.

5. Press No to the Do you want to save <Log Name> before clearing it? message.

Use a UNC path:

1. Select the log file you wish to clear.

2. On the Action menu, press Clear all Events.

3. Press Yes to the Do you want to save <Log Name> before clearing it? message.

4. Type the UNC path to the network share and file name that you want to use, as in \\<ServerName>\<ShareName>\<FileName>, and press Save.

NOTE: When you Save Log File As, Windows Server impersonates you during the save operation. When you Clear all Events and press Yes, it does NOT impersonate you and uses the Local SYSTEM context to access the mapped network drive letter.