When you delete a file in Explorer (or My Computer), the file is stored in the Recycle Bin until you restore the file or empty the bin. Files are also removed when a newer version is deleted or when the Recycle Bin size exceeds the limit you configured in Recycle Bin properties.

On NTFS partitions, the Recycler folder contains a Recycle Bin for each user who has logged on.