A. In Windows Server 2008 and later, when you delete a DC from the Active Directory Sites and Services MMC snap-in, all the DC's associated metadata is also deleted. However, on earlier versions of Windows Server, metadata is left around if a DC is improperly demoted.

Microsoft provides a script with a GUI, shown here, to delete DCs.



Related Reading:



Check out hundreds more useful Q&As like this in John Savill's FAQ for Windows. Also, watch instructional videos made by John at ITTV.net.