We recently restructured our Windows NT 4.0 domain architecture and moved a set of user accounts from an existing domain to a new user domain. After we moved the accounts, users weren't able to select the new domain from the domain drop-down list in the logon dialog box; only the old domains appeared. How can we make sure that the new user account domain appears in the domain drop-down list?

To resolve this problem, clear the domain trust list that's cached on the NT 4.0 workstation. Reboot the workstation to force it to log on to the domain and build a new domain trust list. To clear the domain trust list, delete the DCache and DCacheUpdate registry values, which reside in the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\WindowsNT\Current Version\Winlogon registry subkey.