A. After you install the utility on the target server, perform the following steps:

  1. Log on to the target server as an Administrator (and ensure the account also has local Administrator rights on the source server) and start the Microsoft File Server Migration Wizard (Start, Microsoft File Server Migration Toolkit, File Server Migration Wizard).
  2. On the Welcome page, click New to start a new migration project.
  3. Click Next on the introduction screen.
  4. Select a name for the project and a location to save the settings. By default, the folder C:\FileServerMigration is selected. Click Next.
  5. If you want to keep the existing UNC paths, you need to specify the DFS root server. In this example, we won't use that functionality, so clear the "Use the following DFS root server" check box and click Next.
  6. Select the location for the migrated content to be copied to, as the figure shows, and click Next.
  7. Click Finish at the project summary window.
  8. You must now add the servers from which you want to migrate data by clicking the Add Server button.
  9. Enter the name of the server and click OK, as the figure shows. Repeat this step for each server you want to add.
  10. You can expand each added server to view the shares it plans to migrate and clear the check boxes as desired. You can also set the options to stop sharing the original source once the data has been migrated and to migrate security settings, as the figure shows.
  11. After you've selected all servers and shares, click Continue.
  12. Once settings are validated, the migration stage moves to "Ready to copy" as the figure shows. Click Continue to proceed with the file copy.
  13. After the file copy finishes, click Continue again to finalize the configuration changes and security settings (at this point the NTFS permissions have not been set and shares haven't been created, only the data copied). Open files are skipped during this phase; missed files will be copied during the final stage.
  14. You will be prompted to click Yes to confirm the finalize process. Any additional files and file changes will be copied over, and NTFS and share permissions are applied along with audit and ownership information. During this phase, users will be disconnected from the source server to ensure that files aren't locked or modified during their final migration.
  15. Click OK to the Migration success dialog box.
  16. Click the View Report button to see a detailed status of the entire migration process

Take note that the new share has the name of <original share name>_ <name of original server> (e.g., Data_savdaldc02), so you might want to change this share name after migration.