A. Like Windows 2000, Windows 2003 includes a Manage Your Server Wizard that loads each time an Administrator logs on. (You can also manually start the wizard by opening the Administrative Tools folder under the Start menu and selecting Manage Your Server.) You can use the wizard to add or remove the following roles from your machine:

  • File server
  • Print server
  • Application server (IIS, ASP .NET)
  • Mail server (POP3, SMTP)
  • Terminal server
  • Remote access/VPN server
  • Domain controller (Active Directory)
  • DNS server
  • DHCP server
  • Streaming media server
  • WINS server

When you add a role, the wizard guides you through all the steps to install and configure the selected role. You can perform these actions without the Manage Your Server interface, but the wizard simplifies the process.

To use the Manage Your Server Wizard to add a role, perform the following steps:

  1. Open the wizard and click "Add or remove a role."
  2. After the introduction screen appears, click Next to begin a scan of your network to identify other services and servers on your network.
  3. Select the role to add, then click Next.
    Click here to view image
  4. After the wizard displays a summary of the actions, click Next.
  5. The wizard will install the components and, depending on the service, will restart the computer (the wizard will prompt you to click OK to allow the system to reboot).
  6. After the computer restarts, the wizard will display a dialog box to confirm the installation of the new role components. Click Finish.

Windows 2003 writes changes made from the Configure Your Server Wizard to \%systemroot%\debug\configure your server.log. Whenever you use the wizard to assign a new role for your computer, the wizard appends a list of relevant tools to the .log file to help you maintain the role. For example, if you configure the system to serve as a domain controller--DC, the wizard maintains links to the Microsoft Management Console--MMC--Active Directory Users and Computers snap-in, MMC Domains and Trusts snap-in, and MMC Sites and Services snap-in.

To use the wizard to remove a role, perform Steps 1 and 2 as explained above. When you reach Step 3, select a role that you've previously configured, click Next, then answer Yes when the wizard prompts you to confirm removing the role. Click Next, then proceed as instructed.