A. There are two ways of doing this. The easiest is if you have the TweakUI utility installed perform the following:

  1. Start the TweakUI control panel applet (Start - Settings - Control Panel - TweakUI)
  2. Select the Paranoia tab
  3. Check the "Clear Last User at logon" box
  4. Click Apply then OK

If you don't have TweakUI or simply want to achieve the result through the registry (maybe so you can set it from a logon script):

  1. Start the registry editor
  2. Move to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon for NT 4.0 or HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\policies\system for Windows 2000.
  3. If the value DontDisplayLastUserName does not exist select New - String Value and enter a name of DontDisplayLastUserName
  4. Double click DontDisplayLastUserName and set to 1
  5. Close the registry editor