A. With roaming profiles the users profile is stored centrally on a server and a copy cached locally on machines the user logs on to.

If a user logs onto computer a and logs off, computer a has a cached version of the profile. If the user then logs onto computer b and deletes a number of files/folders and logs off the central profile is updated without the files.

The problem is if the user logs back on to a the locally cached version has the deleted files and folders so will be copied back to the server!

The solution is to disable profile caching on each machine which is explained in the next FAQ, "How do I disable locally cached profiles?".