Q: I removed Microsoft Lync from my environment but my new Lync thinks users already have Lync configuration--how can I remove the Lync-specific attributes for users?

A: If in a lab or perhaps a failed production Lync deployment, you enabled users, then didn't remove the users from Lync before deprovisioning the Lync server, the users will keep their Lync attributes. If you try to add users to the new Lync server, they won't be listed because their attributes are already populated.

The Windows PowerShell command below removes the Lync attributes from all users in the domain, so use this only in a lab environment or when you're absolutely sure that Lync has been removed in your environment.

<code>get-aduser -filter {msRTCSIP-PrimaryUserAddress -like "*"}|set-aduser -clear msRTCSIP-PrimaryUserAddress,msRTCSIP-PrimaryHomeServer,msRTCSIP-UserEnabled,msRTCSIP-OptionFlags,msRTCSIP-UserPolicies</code>